Twin-Stick PC now works! (found how to do it)

Discuss VO-related projects (Twin Sticks, etc.)
Viper2
Virtual-On Positive

Twin-Stick PC now works! (found how to do it)

Post by Viper2 »

I've been playing VOOM on an old PC since a few months now, and although I can control everything pretty well using the keyboard, I wasn't too happy about not being able to execute certain moves (due to the maximum number of keys that can be pressed in at once).

Having tried a gamepad, and not liking the experience, I decided to get a Twin-Stick PC. I received it today, but it doesn't seem to work :cry: My system apparently doesn't see the Twin-Stick. I've hooked it up to the game port, but in VOOM I can select the Twin-Stick, but VOOM won't let me set the options for it (so VOOM doesn't see it). I've tried removing the game port in Device Manager and letting Windows reinstall the driver - doesn't help.

Some system specs:
- Pentium II 266 MHz with 192 Mb RAM, Ensoniq AudioPCI soundcard with game port, Asus Riva TNT2 M64 32 Mb videocard (about right for when VOOM was released, don't you think?)
- Windows 98 SE
- VOOM Win98

Now I mentioned the gamepad (USB), which required some software to be installed to work. Could that be interfering with the game port? If not, that leaves:
- Broken game port
- Broken Twin-Stick PC (does it need a driver? I got the box, very new looking Twin-Stick PC, Japanese instruction sheet (which I can't read), some customer response card thing, and that's it...no driver disc)

Any ideas?
Last edited by Viper2 on 09 Jan 2010, 05:32, edited 1 time in total.
MentholMoose
Virtual-On Positive
Gamertag: MentholMoose
PSN: MentholMoose_

Re: Twin-Stick PC doesn't work, need help

Post by MentholMoose »

That is a very old setup, I don't think I've dealt with a gameport for 10 years!!!! It actually sounds like a fun project, though.